Monday, October 5, 2009

Too much foie gras.

I suppose I should ask if it is possible to have too much foie gras. Politically, animal activistically ( did I make that up?) of course ANY foie gras is too much. Culinarily, it would be a stretch.  I eat veal, as well.  I am evil.  This was local Sonoma County "raised" foie gras, and it was the best I've tasted. Possibly because it went from pan to mouth in less than a minute. Of course that also meant I didn't bother to plate it, so it looks pretty nasty unless you know what you are looking at.  Yes, it's pretty fatty, but you only eat about an ounce.  What you see is enough for two or three people easily.

My previous experiences with foie gras have all been in really nice restaurants.  The first two times it was not seared, or not seared well, or it was too long in transit so it arrived on the room-temp side of warm.  I thought it was all hype, the foie gras insanity.  Finally I had it seared properly and thought "wow, that WAS really good, but not sublime."  All of those dishes came with sauces, I should add.

This foie gras today was so good that I am now right on the bandwagon, ready to do a little foie gras song and dance as our float passes the naysayers.  This foie gras was from a local Sonoma county organic farm, and it was purchased as an entire lobe.  It was cleaned and sliced and seared within minutes of opening the package and it was eaten within seconds of turning brown in the pan with just a sprinkle of salt and pepper.  That was all.  Anything more would have ruined it.  Yum.




It was pretty outrageous.




-- Post From My iPhone